There are 11 states in the US that have legalized recreational cannabis, and Colorado is one of them. If you are aged 21 or older, you can buy cannabis legally in the state. There are numerous dispensaries that deal in cannabis products, but not all sell recreational cannabis. In fact, you can find 420 friendly hotels in Denver, which are licensed for cannabis use on premises. In this post, we are sharing some of the basic details about cannabis laws in Colorado.
I am 18. Can I buy cannabis in Colorado?
No, you need to be at least 21 years of buy recreational cannabis in the state. However, if you are between 18 and 21 and need cannabis for medical needs, you can apply for a card. Note that all cannabis products must be purchased from licensed dispensaries. Don’t be fooled into buying from the internet, or unknown sources. The good news is many dispensaries have online sites, so ordering is easy.
Can I smoke weed in my car?
While you can carry cannabis in your car in a stored container, it is illegal to smoke cannabis in Colorado in your car.
What are the general laws?
Cannabis remains illegal federally, so you are not allowed to smoke or consume weed on federal properties, including national parts. Colorado also prohibits use of cannabis in public places, restaurants, and public transport. There are, as we mentioned earlier, consumption venues that can be considered, and some of the best ones are located in Denver. Also, you can only buy 1 ounce of marijuana at a given point of time and can also possess that much. If you are using for medical reasons, 2 ounces of marijuana is permissible. The rules are same for edibles and concentrates too, but dispensaries cannot sell more than 8 grams of cannabis concentrate at a time. Edibles, although discreet, cannot be consumed in public.
Other things to know
Selling cannabis or marijuana products to anyone under the age of 21 is strictly prohibited and illegal in the state. Also, if you are less than 21 years of age and are caught with marijuana, you may have o deal with a civil penalty. Driving under influence of marijuana is a criminal offence in the state and you can get arrested. Also, you cannot drive out of Denver with your marijuana stock.
Check online for the best dispensaries in Colorado!